Adam Kwarasey (Former Black Stars Goal keeper)

Adam Kwarasey return for Black Stars in AFCON qualifiers against Mozambique

Adam Kwarasey (Former Black Stars Goal keeper)

Adam Kwarasey (Former Black Stars Goal keeper)

Ghana coach Avram Grant has ended Adam Kwarasey’s two-year exile by naming him in his squad for this month’s 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Mozambique but injured Andre Ayew was excluded.

Budding talent Phil Ofosu-Ayeh, who plies his trade with German second-tier side, was left out because of injury.

Fit-again captain Asamoah Gyan has been listed and will lead the Black Stars in the back-to-back matches against the Mambas after his recent impressive displays in the Chinese Super League and Asian Champions League for Shanghai SIPG.

Las Palmas ace Mubarak, who has made a quicker-than-expected return to training, has been included after shaking off a thigh injury.

Winger Frederick Acheampog, arguably Ghana’s best performer in Europe, makes the cut and expected to translate his form to the national team.

Only two Ghana Premier League players- goalkeeper Richard Ofori and WAFA SC striker Samuel Tetteh- made the 23-man squad.

Ghana will face Mozambique in Accra on 24 March before the return leg in Maputo five days later.

The Black Stars top Group H with maximum six points and followed by Rwanda and Mauritius (all tied on three points).

Mozambique have no point after the opening two rounds.

Ghana’s squad to face Mozambique:

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba, Spain), Adam Kwarasey (Portland Timbers, USA), Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Daniel Amartey, (Leicester City, England), Jeffery Schlupp (Leicester City, England), Baba Rahman (Chelsea, England), John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Anzhi, Russia), Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Mohammed Rabiu (Krasnodar, Russia), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy), Samuel Tetteh (WAFA), Mubarak Wakaso (Las Palmas, Spain Fire, USA), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), Alfred Duncan (Sussualo, Italy), Christian Atsu (Malaga, Spain)

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (SIPG Shanghai, China), Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa, England), Abdul-Majeed Waris (Lorient, France) Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion, Switzerland), David Accam (Chicago Fire, USA)

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *